ISSN 1551-8086
return to home search for a contributing writer

seach for poems by title

archive of previous issues submissions information mailing list online store links to other interesting sites contact us  
  April 2019
volume 16 number 1
-table of contents-
  contributing poets
  Michelle Angelini
  luis cuauhtemoc berriozabal
  Jack G. Bowman
  Lynne Bronstein
  Deborah Edler Brown
  Anna Cates
  Beverly M. Collins
  Chella Courington
  David Flynn
  Paul Hellweg
  Glenn Ingersoll
  Scott C. Kaestner
  lalo kikiriki
  John Leonard
  Cynthia Linville
  Marieta Maglas
  Xavier McIves
  Scott Thomas Outlar
  bc petrakos
  Diana Rosen
  Walter Ruhlmann
  David Scriven
  Megha Sood
  Terrence Sykes
  Perry Terrell
  Tim Tipton
  Davide Trame
  Roman Tunkel
  mailing list
luis cuauhtemoc berriozabal
April 2019



art by jared barbick

    Luis Cuauhtémoc Berriozábal, born in Mexico, lives in Southern California, and works In the mental health field in Los Angeles, CA. He is the author of Raw Materials (Pygmy Forest Press), Before and Well After Midnight (Deadbeat Press), The Book of Absurd Dreams (New Polish Beat), Songs for Oblivion (Alternating Current Press), Peering Into The Sun (Poet’s Democracy), Everything Is Permitted (Ten Pages Press), and seven chapbooks from Kendra Steiner Editions (including my latest chapbook, Make the Light Mine). His work has also appeared in Blue Collar Review, Nerve Cowboy, and the New American Imagist.



Hold Onto This Day

Why long for the good old days?
Embrace these days.
Now is the day that you
should be holding on to.

Let us toast with warm wine.
Be unafraid to
hold on to this day.
Let us share it together.

The fire is breathing.
The incense is spreading.
The past years are gone.
Take comfort in today.

Blackberry petals fall
from the edge of the sky.
They fall to the ocean
for you and me.

Raise your cup of wine.
Keep it filled to the rim.
Open the doors
and let the sun come in.

As the sun declines
the shade fills the sky
and the fragrant plants
rest in the garden.

copyright 2019 luis cuauhtemoc berriozabal